The Perfect Parent!

Good Evening people!

It’s Thursday! Which means it’s my Friday! Which means that I am happy! lol

I cannot wait unitl my work day ends so that I can begin to relax and release! As we all know, work can be very stressful, but it can be even more stressful when your not in love with what you do anymore! But I digress, the actual reason for this post is better and more uplifting!

When it comes to revealing ones sexual identity, the biggest hill to get over is telling ones parents. Our parents are the most important people in our lives before we enter personal relationships and begin families. So I can certainly understand why their approval is of the utmost importance.

Many people find it soooooo hard to come out because of what mom and dad might say and sadly, the reactions of parents over the years has not made it any easier! Many parents over-react by throwing their children out of the home, refusing to financially care for them anymore, or going the extra mile and simply not speaking to them ever again! It can be very hurtful and stressful so I understand!

Which is why I am shouting out the parents of this letter! A 13 year old boy named Connor recently came out to his parents which is a huge step, ESPECIALLY at such a young age! And his parents (specifically his mom) gave the response that everyone of us dreams of hearing,

“Dear Connor,

I am writing you this letter so you have something tangible, something to hold onto if you should ever need it., to always remind you that we love you.

I am pretty proud that we have the kind of relationship in which you felt comfortable coming out to me at 13 years old. I am hoping that we have created an environment in our house in which you know you are loved, you are safe, and that we will support you and fight for you.

Dad and I love you very much. You are growing into such an amazing young man. You are pure potential. We can’t wait to see where it takes you!

Love,
Mom”

The feeling Connor must of had when reading this letter gives me goosebumps! I am so proud of him for taking such a huge step and I am so proud of his parents for creating an environment where he can be himself!

What many parents need to understand is that what they say to us, is GOLD! How they make us feel is long-lasting. It could be the difference between their children having a long, prosperous and fulfilled life and burying their children before they can be buried by them!

Something to think about!

Peace and blessings!

Leave a Reply

