World AIDS Day!

Hello People!

How are people doing? How was yur holiday!?

I most certainly enjoyed my holiday, especially, being that I thought I would be at work! I got to spend it with family though and for that I am very thankful!

I know, it has been quite sometime since the last time I have posted some new info. I have just been so busy with work, and everything that I get myself into on the regular basis. Recently I have begun my musical career! Doing it the way that I have wanted to for so long!  But today is a special day, a day worth taking time out to help with its purpose.

Today is World AIDS Day! This day is designed so that people around the world can come together and unite in the fight against HIV/AIDS and to commerate those who have lost their lives to it.  Now in the LGBT community it is no secret that this disease is our #1 killer! Especially among those of African decent.

It is also the first fist global health day and was started in 1988!

HIV stands for the Human Immunodeficiency Virus. It is a virus which attacks the body’s immune system — the body’s defence against diseases.

HIV can be passed on through infected bodily fluids, most commonly via sex without a condom or by sharing infected needles, syringes or other injecting drug equipment.

Here are just a few fact about the disease:

  • Over 90% of people with HIV were infected through sexual contact
  • You can now get tested for HIV using a saliva sample
  • HIV is not passed on through spitting, biting or sharing utensils
  • Only 1% of babies born to HIV positive mothers have HIV
  • You can get the results of an HIV test in just 15-20 minutes
  • There is no vaccine and no cure for HIV

If you feel that you may be a carrier of the virus, please follow through with getting the test! Symptoms may include:

  • Fever
  • Chills
  • Rash
  • Night sweats
  • Muscle aches
  • Sore throat
  • Fatigue
  • Swollen lymph nodes
  • Ulcers in the mouth

NEVER TAKE THIS ISSUE LIGHTLY! This is your life, remeber that!

Peace and Blessings to you all!

 

Leave a Reply

