I’m Coming Out: Robbie Rogers

image

Good Afternoon People!

So I have decided that we will shout out all of those people who are seen in the public eye and may even be an inspiration to others when they decide to reveal their true sexuality! Now of course that means revealing that they are actually homosexual because quite frankly, no one has a problem saying they are straight.

So today’s spotlight is on Robbie Rogers who is a professional soccer player! He recently revealed on a blog of his own that he was indeed gay and he seems to be quite content with that! He also revealed that he has had major support, while keeping the secret, from family, friends, and fellow professional soccer players alike!

I find it to be wonderful that he is freeing himself and that he has had the support that most closet cases so desperately need! I just wish he wasn’t retiring!

Yes people, we finally get the first “Out” gay soccer player and he decides to leave! He says:

“I always thought I could hide this secret. Football was my escape, my purpose, my identity. Football hid my secret, gave me more joy than I could have ever imagined… I will always be thankful for my career. I will remember Beijing, The MLS Cup, and most of all my teammates. I will never forget the friends I have made a long the way and the friends that supported me once they knew my secret.”

I can say that I understand how you feel because many people go through it! But I also feel that you are an inspiration and you should continue to do what you love, while loving yourself because you have NO IDEA how many doors you will open!

I wish Mr. Rogers luck and I hope he lives a pleasant life from here on out!

Peace and blessings everyone!

Leave a Reply

